About Bhutan


Bhutan is a sanctuary of harmonious evolution in the heart of the Eastern Himalayas. It is indeed an extraordinary landlocked country surrounded by mountains, covering an area of around 38,394 sq.km.  

Which lies in the eastern Himalayas, between Tibet to the north and the Indian territories of Assam and West Bengal top on the south.


The country's history stretches back to the origins of Buddhism and its deeply spiritual populace are earthy, enterprising, pragmatic and delightfully harmonious. They live in harmony with nature

and have evolved a unique identity derived largely from a religious and cultural heritage.



The northern region of the country consists of an arc of eastern Himalayan alpine shrub and meadows reaching up to glaciated mountain peaks with an extremely cold climate at the highest elevations.  Most peaks in the north are over 7,000 meters above the sea level.


Bhutan experiences five distinct seasons: summer, monsoon, autumn, winter and spring.

The climate in Bhutan varies with altitude, with the subtropical in the south to the moderate in the highlands and polar type climate with the year round snow in the north.

Western Bhutan has the heavier monsoon rains and Southern Bhutan has hot humid summers and cool winters, central and eastern Bhutan is more temperate and drier than the west with warm summers and cool winters.



Bhutanese Currency


Bhutanese currency is the ngultrum (Nu). Its value is pegged with the Indian rupee. Both Nu and Indian rupee can be used in Bhutan. The approximate exchange rate is Nu 0.46 for one US Dollar or Nu 1.4 for one Thai Baht.